Grease Monkeys NZ

A Site for Garage Built Custom Motorcycles with that Vintage Vibe

HomeHome  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 

Our scooters

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
deadbeat
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostSubject: Our scooters   Mon Aug 30, 2010 6:24 pm

Finally worked out how to post pics.The first one is "The 68 Comeback Special"A 68 Trophy thats hasnt been molested. By that I mean wiring is all original(from what I can see) & the engine is stock as well.Bolt on hard tail,conical rear hub,sprung saddle & apes.Have got a sprung hub for her but it will need relecing into a new rim.Got it from one of the Retro Rockers who are a great bunch of kats with a wealth of knowledge & have become good friends as well.She may not be the fastest bike around affraid ,but im too old for that stuff anymore!

The second is a little bike that I have been piecing together for about 10 years now for my doll.I got it from a geezer that use to ride it in Auckland in the late 60's,early 70's.He sent for the springer front from the states & decided that the bike should be raked,hard tail etc.It took nearly 12 months for the front end to arrive & unfortunately he lost interest in his sickle,moved to Wellyfornia & it got shoved under his house in the mud.The frame had been run over,the hard tail needed to be welded on & straightened.This my first time that I have attempted to build a bike but im building it for my doll as she wants it.
Big thanks to the Retro Rockers,Glen,Gats,Keith & Rats for their engine knowledge.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
brett7777
Serial Bike Abuser
Serial Bike Abuser

PostSubject: Re: Our scooters   Mon Aug 30, 2010 7:13 pm

Cool bikes.
My bro-in-law has a triumph with one of those bolt on hardtails. There used to be a company in Wales that sold those(cant remember their name). Maybe Irishjon would remember them?