Grease Monkeys NZ
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Grease Monkeys NZ

A Site for Garage Built Custom Motorcycles with that Vintage Vibe

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Manual Cam Chain Tensioner

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
MikeDodd
Apprentice
Apprentice

Manual Cam Chain Tensioner Empty
PostSubject: Manual Cam Chain Tensioner   Manual Cam Chain Tensioner EmptyMon Mar 30, 2015 5:52 pm

Hey guys,

I'm after a bit of advice and/or assistance if someone wants a 6 pack of beer!

So the stock cam chain tensioner on "Project Postie" (GN250 brat/café project) gave up the ghost the other day. So never the one to do the easy thing I decided to get a friend to help me CNC up a manual cam chain tensioner. As I'm new to the whole working on bikes (swapping over from the 4 wheel varieties), I've never set one of these before. Is there anyone out there who has experience with these setting these? I've got it set and running again, but I'm not convinced it's 100% right. I'm slightly paranoid about setting it too tight and wearing the shit out of the chain and guide. I've set the valve clearances already so they're spot in the middle of their allowable range. There's still a little bit of noise there - I'm just concerned that I haven't placed enough tension on the chain.

If anyone has any tips or tricks that would be much appreciated! Or if anyone around the central city area doesn't mind having a listen and giving a hand with a fine tune of it, there's a 6 pack on offer and I'll come to you!

Cheers
Mike
Back to top Go down
Coops
Serial Bike Abuser
Serial Bike Abuser
Coops

PostSubject: Re: Manual Cam Chain Tensioner   Manual Cam Chain Tensioner EmptyMon Mar 30, 2015 6:07 pm

Sadly, I have a poor level of mechanical knowledge... but if I come round and listen to it, can I have a beer lol!.